How to Preserve Permissions When Moving Folders in Box
In order for permissions to be preserved, the mover must ensure that the parent folder from which the waterfall permission is beginning is the one being moved. Any child folder or file that is simply receiving a "trickle" permission from the parent folder’s waterfall will not retain its permissions when that child folder is moved. That child folder and its contents can still be moved, but they will be moved as a folder and contents without any collaborators.
The only exception to the above rule is when an individual file within a folder has been specifically granted collaborator permission and then moved to another folder. At that point, that file becomes the waterfall permission source, so it retains its permissions even when it’s moved to another folder regardless of the destination folder’s new permission structure.